Among those born of women none is greater than John the Baptist!

Of the parishes I served as an Anglican, two were dedicated to St John the Baptist, after whom I am named. It was indeed a wonderful blessing when I learnt last week that my new task as a Catholic Priest is to be in a church dedicated to St John the Baptist. I ask you to join me in prayer today as we give thanks for this great saint, and offer prayers for the Anglican church of St John the Baptist in Jarrow, the Anglican church of St John the Baptist in Sevenoaks and the Catholic church of St John the Baptist in Westerham.

O God, who raised up Saint John the Baptist
to make ready a nation fit for Christ the Lord,
give your people, we pray,
the grace of spiritual joys
and direct the hearts of all the faithful
into the way of salvation and peace
. Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.