Of BBQs and Parishes

St John the Baptist, Westerham

One of the ideas of Anglicanorum Coetibus and the Complimentary Norms is that Ordinariate priests work closely within the diocese that they reside. This vision of the Holy Father is being made tangible in this part of the world.

I have been asked to look after the Parish of Westerham as a Parochial Administrator while equally being the Pastor of the Sevenoaks Ordinariate Group. This means that this household will be moving to Westerham soon. I am glad that I will still be involved with St Thomas, which is important for me and the group as this is where we became part of the Catholic Church.

I am grateful for the trust afforded me by the Archbishop of Southwark and Bishop John Hine and ask your prayers that I will be faithful to this new calling which I lay in the hands of Our Lady of Walsingham. Monsignor Newton has been supportive in this new venture and to him I am, as always, grateful. During Mass this morning I entrusted myself to the Sacred Heart of Jesus that I may continue to joyfully serve our group and that I will be strengthened to serve this new calling in Westerham. The Holy Father is calling for evangelisation and indeed the Ordinariate is a part of this, small maybe, but still a part. Laus Deo.

Many of the group assembled for a BBQ today; it was again the feeling of being part of a happy family. The common journey we shared has brought us together and all share this sense of the joy of coming to the Catholic Faith.

We all remembered Fr James and Adam, a young member of our group, who spent this weekend in Oscott for a special event you can follow here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.